Revision

I have been somewhat elusive the past few weeks, and the reason being, I have been revising several chapters in my book. Once I realized what my main characters supernatural power would be certain things had to change throughout the beginning. Let me tell you it has been very taxing. Now I understand why they say wait until you have finished the whole book before attempting this time consuming task.

I might be a bit burned out from this necessary part of writing, but I have learned a few things along the way.

It is comforting to know that from the time I started creating this book, which feels like ages ago, I have grown beyond what I once thought I was capable of achieving. Some advice,  it’s important when you feel discouraged about what you’re writing on you take a step back, and look at something you wrote years ago to gain some perspective. Also, don’t compare yourself to other authors it will only hold you back from becoming the writer you are truly meant to be.

On the downside of things, it takes a lot of time and a tremendous amount of patience. If you were to talk with my husband he would tell you I have zero patience. I like to think with age I have gained maybe a fraction of it, but going through this process sure tested the waters.

Before you begin revising I suggest finding resources that can help guide you along the way to make the task more easy. My personal advice, take breaks in between chapters. Read a book or organize your closets, maybe go camping. Do something to recharge your battery so the next chapter gets your full attention.

Below I attached an article from lovely lady who will always hold a special place in my heart. I hope you take the time to read or even listen to the podcast. I recommend signing up to receive her weekly emails. It never fails, she always seems to know how I am feeling each week. I click open her email to get a little pick me up, a jolt of caffeine if you will, that sets right back on course.

Always remember the reason that made you decide to become a writer in the first place and then say to yourself, “I got this!”

http://annkroeker.com/2017/03/07/ep-92-compose-perfect-first-draft/

This entry was posted in Past Blog Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

